Review of Comfortis Chewable Flea Tablets for Dogs

Review of Comfortis Chewable Flea Tablets for Dogs
Category: Comfortis
Comments: 16 [Read/Post]

Summary: Comfortis Chewable Flea Control for Dogs is a new product which became available for Australian dogs in late 2009. As with any new product, it has taken some time for pet owners to learn about the advantages of this new flea control...

Review of Comfortis Chewable Flea Tablets for Dogs

Comfortis Chewable Flea Control for Dogs is a new product which became available for Australian dogs in late 2009. As with any new product, it has taken some time for pet owners to learn about the advantages of this new flea control.

Comfortis for Dogs comes in the form of a chewable flavoured tablet, which most dogs find highly palatable. In fact it is the only long term flea control pill available which has been approved by the APVMA (Australia) and EPA (US). Comfortis kills adult fleas on your dog (usually within 4 hours) and prevents re-infestation for a whole month.

Key Features and Benefits

  • Starts killing fleas within 30 minutes of administration, with 100% of adult fleas killed within only four hours.
  • Prevents and treats Flea Allergy Dermatitis (FAD), which is a serious allergic reaction to flea bites from which many dogs suffer.
  • Comes in a flavored chewable tablet form, which means easy and hassle-free administration once a month. No more sticky pesticide residue on your pet's coat.
  • Unlike most topical 'spot-ons', there are no restrictions on washing or bathing your pet afterwards. Great for dogs who love the water or need regular baths.

How Comfortis Works

Comfortis contains spinosad, an insecticide which causes constant over-stimulation of the flea nervous system. This results in initial hyperexcitation and an inability to feed, followed rapidly by paralysis and flea death. Spinosad only works on insect nervous systems, making it safe for your dog.

Due to this unique mode of action, Comfortis is useful where fleas have become resistant to older flea control products and 'spot-ons'.

Has a spot-on treatment stopped working for your dog? Learn why Comfortis performs better vs Frontline Plus, K9 Advantix and Advantage.

Directions for Use

Administer one pill by mouth once a month with a full meal. Use the appropriately sized pack for your dog's weight. See full dosing and product information.

Safety

Comfortis is safe to use on adult dogs and puppies older than 14 weeks of age. For use in dogs only. Consult your veterinarian before using to treat breeding, pregnant, or nursing animals, and dogs with pre-existing epilepsy. Use only as directed by the label.

Comfortis has been used safely with many common tick treatments and collars, as well as heartworm and worming medications. Detailed information on Comfortis side-effects and safety.

Packet Sizes and Dosing

Comfortis Tablets are manufactured by Eli Lilly and are available in five chewable flavoured tablet sizes for oral administration according to weight. Each chewable tablet delivers a minimum medication (spinosad) dosage of 13.5mg/lb (30 mg/kg).

 

Buy Cheap Comfortis online

More about Comfortis:

Buy cheap Comfortis Now

Related Tags:

comfortis for dogs reviews, comfortis reviews, comfortis reviews australia

 

Important: The information provided in this article is for general information only and is subject to change. Always verify the accuracy of the above first with your primary care veterinarian or in the case of a product, by reading packet and prescribing information before administering it to your pet. The specific needs and circumstances of your pet have not been taken into account. Please refer to our Terms & Conditions for further information.

Related Items

Comfortis for Dogs 27.1-54kg 6 pack (Brown)
Comfortis for Dogs 27.1-54kg 6 pack (Brown)

Comfortis for Dogs 18.1-27kg 6 pack (Blue)
Comfortis for Dogs 18.1-27kg 6 pack (Blue)

Comfortis for Dogs 9.1-18kg and Cats 5.5-11.2kg 6 pack (Green)
Comfortis for Dogs 9.1-18kg and Cats 5.5-11.2kg 6 pack (Green)

Comfortis for Dogs 4.6-9kg and Cats 2.8-5.4kg 6 pack (Orange)
Comfortis for Dogs 4.6-9kg and Cats 2.8-5.4kg 6 pack (Orange)

Comfortis for Dogs 2.3-4.5kg and Cats 1.4-2.7kg 6 pack (Pink)
Comfortis for Dogs 2.3-4.5kg and Cats 1.4-2.7kg 6 pack (Pink)


Comments on Review of Comfortis Chewable Flea Tablets for Dogs

 Next page


Pip 14-10-2016 01:11:20
I have used this product on a rescue dog we have just got she was alive with fleas and within 24hrs not a trace excellent product. Thank you from me and my dog.
Lyn J 09-05-2016 10:04:30
Our 6 years old spoodle has been treated with topical flea treatments regularly every month all her life when last week to my horror discovered she had fleas and was in a great deal of discomfort where she had made herself sore from scratching the irritated area .
It took me a while to figure out what the problem was as had only treated her with the topical stuff the week before . Spent the day washing everything and vacuuming my entire house for hours the very thought she had them completely freaked me out .4
Did some internet research and rushed off to buy Comfortis . Great results were all gone in 24 hours so plan to continue with this method from now on.
Anne 17-04-2016 04:07:37
I agree, local Vet Clinic recommended it for my Greyhound. Shortly after 2 hours all the dead fleas were visible on his coat, able to comb them out. The previous days, he to was ripping at his coat and skin, that night totally peaceful.
Pearl 18-01-2016 22:07:23
5 Stars! I have been using this for a couple years now, and notice that I really only have to use this 2-3 times a year. My dogs pick up fleas from the many stray cats that cruise our yard at night, when the dogs are inside. Havent seen any side affects. Hoping it doesnt affect them internally in the long run, simply cause I'm not sure what the ingredients are. Grateful for Comfortis! Thank You =)
Marie 23-01-2015 02:51:53
Love Comfortis! After using Frontline Plus with no results have switched to Comfortis and no more fleas!! That's 8 dogs flea free and hopefully that's the way it will stay :)
Scar Malinois 08-01-2015 12:46:47
We have been having major trouble with fleas on our shepherd which are very active dogs he lost 80% of his energy due to the fleas did my homework online and by far the best reviews were comfortis it worked miracles in 30 mins after 4 hours he was running again we watched the fleas fall from him I'm so happy we used this product will not use another it's that awesome.
Melissa 02-12-2014 08:23:58
Hello. Does this keep killing fleas for the whole month? I can't seem to kill the fleas that have invaded our yard, so if they jump back on my dogs will they die?

Staff Answer: Hi Melissa, Comfortis will keep on killing fleas which jump onto your dogs for the entire month. It can take many months to get the population of fleas in an environment under control - but by keeping up the flea control you will limit the discomfort from these fleas in the meantime.
Kelly 25-11-2014 10:08:10
Hello We as a household have used Comfortis for dogs for many years ..We have been very happy with the product but I am finding though, that it has not been as effective this last year.
My dogs seem to still be having some fleas ? .. HELP :)

Staff Comment: Hi Kelly, If you would like to contact us directly via email or with the contact us link on this site we would be happy to provide some tailored help with the flea problem.
Megan A 13-11-2014 22:50:46
After administration of tablet and you feed your cat but it does not eat all their dinner as cats are typically not like dogs with their meals, they like to come back to finish later. Will this be a problem?

Staff Comment: Hi Megan. Administering Comfortis with food increases it's effectiveness. Even if your cat does eat a small amount of their dinner it will help. Please contact us if you have any further questions about this product.
Elaine B 13-09-2014 22:15:29
Comfortis flea treatment really does work I have spent thousands on other products and they have not worked. I am interested to know if the cat one is as good.

Staff Comment: Thanks for your review Elaine. The good news is that Comfortis seems to work just as well in cats, which is why we are happy to have Comfortis for Cats now approved in Australia.

 Next page


Share comments

Your Name: *
Comments: *
Please Note: HTML Markup will be automatically removed.
The ability to post urls has been disabled by the site administrator.
*

Type the characters you see in the picture:

Get a different code
Latest News: New Pet Deals section opened. Save even more and get great bonuses!   See all news...